Outline Triangle Left Outline Triangle Top Outline Triangle Right

Stay at home and save lives

Erewash residents will live under the government’s tough Tier 4 restrictions from Thursday 31 December, it was confirmed today (Wednesday).

They will join residents in the whole of Derbyshire and millions of people across the country in facing the strictest curbs – which are effectively a return to November’s national lockdown measures.

It was widely predicted that the new Tier 4 level would be extended across more regions as the new COVID-19 strain continues to see cases of the virus soar, with figures in many areas going past the peak seen in the first wave.

The change means all non-essential shops, gyms, hairdressers and venues like cinemas and bowling alleys will be forced to close.

The government says Tier 4 is a ‘Stay at Home’ message, meaning residents should not leave or be outside of their home or garden except where they have good reason – like work (where they can’t work from home) and for medical appointments.

People can exercise outdoors and visit some public outdoor places either alone or with their household or support bubble, but should minimise time spent outside the home and follow the government’s safety guidelines.

Councillor Carol Hart, the Leader of Erewash Borough Council, says it is important that everyone accepts that the fight against the virus has to go on:

“We must all stand together and set ourselves the most important New Year’s resolution we will probably ever make – to unite and fight this deadly virus. The battle seems unending, I know, but we can win if we all follow the guidelines and abide by the new restrictions in place.

“It is challenging, it is frustrating, it is disappointing and these are extremely tough times for so many of us. But please act responsibly and we can get through this. My thanks again to everyone for playing their part and now let us go into the New Year with a continued determination to get us through this safely.”

Residents can find details of the Tier 4 restrictions at the gov.uk website.

Green Triangle Blue Triangle Yellow Triangle