Outline Triangle Left Outline Triangle Top Outline Triangle Right

Candidates announced for local elections

There will be 37 candidates standing in the Erewash area at next month’s Derbyshire County Council elections, which take place on Thursday 6 May.

After the close of nominations on Thursday 8 April, it was confirmed that the Conservative Party and Labour Party each have nine candidates, the Green Party and Liberal Democrats each have eight and Reform has three candidates standing in the Erewash division.

Voters will go to the polls to elect nine county councillors in total to represent the nine divisions that make up the Erewash area. One candidate will be elected for each division – Breadsall and West Hallam; Breaston; Ilkeston East; Ilkeston South; Ilkeston West; Long Eaton; Petersham; Sandiacre; and Sawley.

In addition, by-elections are taking place in two Erewash Borough Council wards following the resignation of two councillors. In Ilkeston’s Hallam Fields ward, the Conservatives, Labour and Liberal Democrats will each field one candidate – while in Long Eaton’s Nottingham Road ward, the Conservatives, Labour, Green Party and Liberal Democrats have each nominated one candidate.

Voters in the parish wards of Borrowash East and Borrowash West will also receive ballot papers to elect a parish councillor– where there will be one Conservative candidate in each ward and one Ockbrook & Borrowash Neighbourhood Network Independent candidate in each ward.

Four candidates have been confirmed for the role of Derbyshire’s Police and Crime Commissioner.

Full details of all candidates can be found on the council’s website www.erewash.gov.uk

Green Triangle Blue Triangle Yellow Triangle